Style icon : Julian Edelman

Julian Edelman is arguably one of the most stylish players in the NFL.

In recent years, Julian Edelman has become somewhat of a style icon. Not only is he the face of the NFL’s lifestyle campaign for 2015, but he also has his own line of hats and T-shirts and is regularly spotted at VIP events for the fashion-forward crowd.  

In September 2015 , Julian Edelman was featured in the pages of Men’s Health magazine, but this month he’s gotten cover star honors for local glossy Boston Common, which is celebrating its 10th anniversary. 

Inside the the magazine, Julian models fashionable looks from Ermenegildo Zegna, John Varvatos and other high-end menswear designers.

The photos are the latest in a string of fashion-related projects and appearances for the wide receiver, who recently attended New York Fashion Week and is the face of the NFL’s men’s lifestyle apparel collection.  

Most recently, during men’s fashion week in New York,  Edelman was named menswear style ambassador by the Council of Fashion Designers of America.  

“I like looking at clothes, and I like going to shows and seeing new, fashion-forward stuff,” says Edelman

“So when they approached me with this, I thought it was a great idea because it’s part of my work—it’s part of who I am. Why can’t we make NFL apparel cool for every day instead of only wearing it on game day?”

The 29-year-old’s interest in fashion is long-standing, having really come into its own once he joined the Patriots in 2009 and found his teammates pushing the limits of sports-star style.

“You’ve got old-man Brady,” Tom brings the fire every week when we take our away trips with how he dresses. I like his simplicity and his timeless, classic approach. Devin McCourty, he’s got his own style, he always wears a nice fitted suit and mixes up his colors. He’s got some game when it comes to the fashion world. Patrick Chung is another guy that knows how to dress well. He’s always got some cool suits on. He’s kind of a sneakerhead.”

Danny Amendola, he’s got his own little flair,” Edelman says of the Pats’s wide receiver, whose taste is most akin to his own. “He’s got that whole alternative look. I’m a fan of how he dresses and his style. He’s very original. It’s kind of like that John Varvatos look—rugged, cool—he definitely knows how to dress.”

But perhaps the person with the most unique outfits in Gillette Stadium is coachBill Belichick, a man equally famous for leading the team to four Super Bowl wins as he is for exclusively wearing sweatshirts with custom-cut, three-quarter sleeves to every game, regardless of temperature.

For his own wardrobe, Edelman favors Ermenegildo Zegna suits cut slim in the leg to show off his shoes, and of-the-moment streetwear from brands like Kith andPublic School, which he buys on trips to Soho in New York City. As a spokesperson for Puma, he recommends a pair of “suedes” with an NFL tee as off-duty attire, though Edelman is also keen on Common Projects’s simple leather sneakers. His taste is far more specific than that of his campaign counterpart, the Green Bay Packers’s wide receiver Jordy Nelson, a nonchalant jeans-and-tee kind of guy, but Edelman’s affinity for current trends is still relatable to the NFL’s massive fan base. To those looking to achieve a look akin to his own, Edelman advises:

“You can never go wrong with a pair of jeans, a cool tailored shirt, and a nice jacket. You can dress it up with a more stylish jacket, or a bracelet, watch, or necklace. It’s simple, but it’s cool. That’s my opinion.” 

 

 

Menswear style is a huge part of professional sports these days. For example the players of the NBA is seen dressed and photographed on the way to the game whereas you see a lot less of us. Nevertheless, we have a pretty stylish team. Everyone knows that Tom Brady can dress to the nines… He wears Tom Ford menswear. Tom is always looking like that well dressed man about town. I like to keep my style classy and classic while popping a few things in here and there such as a pocket square or a sharp looking tie. I like to change up my personal style.

I think style is awesome as it is a way to express oneself. I like to wear a clean pocket square with every suit and keep my neckwear simple – I do not like to get too crazy with the tie. I like wearing neckties. I also prefer my suits slimmer fitting and tapered pant leg.   I am not a tall guy so I think this style suits me well.

I like Zegna and I have worked with Zegna a few times. Just seeing whatTom Brady brings around is interesting. I would have to say that Tom Ford menswear is awesome. I really like the Joseph Abboud menswear collection from what I have seen here at CFDA men’s fashion week.   The Joseph Abboud collection is different from what I have seen.

Julian Edelman  at White house 

Julian Edelman at Grammy awards 2015 

Julian Edelman in tuxedo

 

